What Gives You a Lift

My dad gave me a clear example of extraversion, in the Jungian sense.

He gave a short introductory speech at a gathering of the local Kiwanis chapter. There was nothing special about the occasion, but I can imagine my dad was quite professional about it. Afterward, another member said that in the 10 years he has been a member that was the best speech he has heard. My dad told me that gave him a ‘lift’.

That is Jungian extraversion. It is when social activities give you energy, on a regular basis. That is why my dad belongs to Kiwanis, even having been the president last year. It’s why he is often in leadership positions in whatever church he belongs to. It’s why he was a professor, before that a manager, and before that an army officer. He seeks out social situations that will give him that ‘lift’. It makes him feel good.

He claims he didn’t used to be an extravert. I doubt that is the case. It’s probably that he didn’t used to have the social skills and so was more shy, a separate issue from Jungian extraversion/introversion. But if he hadn’t been an extravert, he wouldn’t have been motivated in the first place to learn those social skills.

As an introvert, I have less desire to learn them. That is because if someone gave me a compliment like that it wouldn’t likely give me the same kind of ‘lift’. Social situations are more tiresome than uplifting for me.

It’s not a matter of liking or disliking people. An introvert may like people just fine. And an extravert may despise people.

These psychological traits can express in many ways, someteimes in stereotypical ways but not always. An extravert, instead of giving speeches, may quietly volunteer at a soup kitchen or play on a sports team. Being an extravert doesn’t necessarily mean taking on leadership positions and being the center of all attention, any more than being an introvert means hiding from people and always avoiding social situations.

Most basically, it’s about what gives a person energy versus what tires them out. It’s that simple.

3 thoughts on “What Gives You a Lift

  1. Benjamin
    would like to thank you for all the information about Thomas H. Lewis
    my grandfather, George Washington Lewis was the son of John Calvin Lewis
    who was the son of Thomas H. Lewis
    George was one of 12 children
    We lived in the tight corner of Dubois, Orange, and Martin counties in Indiana
    My grandfather’s mother was Malinda Rebecca Wininger
    Michael Lewis

    • You’re welcome. I’m glad you found my genealogical research interesting, useful, or whatever.

      I just looked back on the posts I wrote about Thomas H. Lewis and family. The two posts I read were packed full of info and they sure were confusing. Genealogy research can be mind-numbing sometimes.

      Our families might connect in a number of places. There are a bunch of Winingers on my mom’s side of the family. I’ll have to ask my mom about the names you mention. She grew up around her extended family in Indiana, specifically in Lafayette.

    • Your grandfather was the youngest of twelve children, right? I assume then your grandmother was Susan Mae Quinn. In that case, your father might be Gerald Lee Lewis (the oldest child of George and Susie) and your mother Virginia Kearby, both from Orange county. Or else your father is Edgar Adron Lewis (second son and fifth of six children). Is any of that correct?

Leave a Reply

