On Napping and the Good Life

I have a bunch of time off right now. And by a bunch I mean two friggin months off in a row. That is nice, the longest vacation I’ve ever taken from any job in my life.

Overtime was plentiful this past year and I took full advantage of it. This allowed me to accrue hours to be used as I saw fit, but I was still surprised the bosses let me take all that time off in one large section. I might forget how to do my job by the time I return.

It’s been relaxing, to say the least. I’m only part way into the first month. That was the relaxing part. Soon, I’ll take a week long trip to Kentucky. And after that I’ll have a month to recuperate.

The one thing I like most of all is having absolutely no sleep schedule. I sleep whenever I want. Sometimes, I go to bed early and wake up early. At other times, I stay up late into the wee hours. Best of all is when I nap here and there throughout the day. I’ve found that, if one naps enough, one never has to sleep. It’s just that some naps are longer than others. I learned this trick from the cats I have known.

I could really get used to this.

2 thoughts on “On Napping and the Good Life

  1. The irony of all of this is that having good vacations boosts productivity over the long run. (If you have the chance to, look up how many vacation days Europeans take versus us North Americans).

    Breaks too are taken not only for workers benefit, but for those of employers.

    So does a shorter work day. Sweden is experimenting with a 6-hour workday in the hopes of more productivity and fewer sick days.

    • I think I’ve seen comparisons like that, between the US and Europe. But I’ve never researched it or anything.

      Yes, breaks are good for everyone, not just workers and not just workers and bosses, but for the entire society. A stressed out and tired out population isn’t good for anyone.

      It’s similar to the problem of inequality. Even rich people are worse off in places with high inequality. There is more to inequality than just money. It’s inequality of all kinds of things, including free time. Societies with more inequality in all ways tend to have worse societies in all ways. And vice versa.

Leave a Reply

