Mothers Always Think They’re Right

I was visiting my parents’ house. I visit them more often these days because, after retirement, they moved back to town here in Iowa.

They were living in South Carolina where they acquired a cat, my adoptive sibling. His name is Sam and he is rotund which is how he came when my parents found him. Too much Southern food will do that to you.

Anyway, my point is that there is a lot of feline belly to love. I grew up with cats and I’m quite fond of them, but this cat’s belly is just glorious. It is very hard to resist and, on Sam’s end of the bargain, he offers absolutely no resistance. He is a lover, not a fighter.

So, there I was petting Sam’s belly along with patting his rump. He was splayed out, happy as can be, occasionally meowing and lightly reaching out to claw at his nearby scratching post. At the same time, with my free hand, I held a cup of coffee. There is the setup for you.

Sam was at the bottom of the stairs which I had just walked down. My mom was coming down the stairs as well. She stopped there looking down at Sam and I. She warned that I would spill the coffee. She wasn’t worried about the cat getting burned by scolding coffee. No, she was worried about her light tan carpet getting stained.

This is typical mother behavior. Jeez! I’m an adult and have been for quite a while now. Doesn’t she think I know how to hold a cup of coffee without spilling it? What is up with mothers, anyway?

Don’t pet the cat while holding your coffee or you’ll spill it!
Don’t bounce that ball in the house or you’ll break something!
Don’t shove anything in the outlet or you’ll get shocked!

Don’t do this! Don’t do that!

It just goes on and on, I tell ya.

How the story ends is like this. Maybe less than a minute after the motherly complaining, I spilled some coffee on my mom’s lovely light tan carpet. It was only a little bit of coffee. Nothing to get excited about. Come on, accidents happen.

It is like my entire childhood all over again.

2 thoughts on “Mothers Always Think They’re Right

  1. I like that you asked that question this post. That amuses me.

    I’d probably be in a beter mood if I had a kitty belly to rub. The best antidepressant around. Alas and alackaday, I’m stuck at work doing a 13 hour shift, on my 12th hour at the moment.

    It is late at night and work has slowed down. So, I’m just sitting here thinking too much. One thing I’m talented at is thinking too much. If thoughts were pennies, I’d be a millionaire.

    I hope all my ‘thinking’ wasn’t bothering you too much. I often think out loud here on my blog. I guess that is what my blog is for. It’s better than keeping all those thoughts stuck in my head like a bunch of hamsters simultaneously trying to run on the same wheel.

    I wasn’t expecting anyone to pop into my blog this lovely night. Is there a reason you’re up late? I’m assuming it is late wherever you are (or was late when you commented), yes?

Leave a Reply

