Dark Imagination

The Darkness. The Blackness.
The Dark Mother. The Black Goddess.
All Devouring. All Giving.

She who is the Blackness, the Emptiness, the Void. Ancient memory, bodily impulses, guts and groin.

Deep in the Earth, the Womb of the Mother of us all, the Virgin Mother. Caverns where all light is extinguished, where the force of Light can’t penetrate. All that one can do is feel, feel, feel… run one’s fingers along the walls, feel the mud between one’s toes… feel, feel, feel the tug of water flowing downward, ever downward into chasms unseen.

The Earth, Gaia. The dark rich soil out of which life grows. The humus where life and death meets, endless aeons of death upon death out of which life emerges, a dark magic of creation that simultaneously re-creates even as it creates anew.

The Deep Blackness of the ocean where undiscovered beings dwell. The Darkness of the woods on a moonless night. Breathing, movements, things that brush by, things that sting. A mass of life, an orgy of life, self-consuming, all-consuming. Life flows, emerges, feeds. Life, an urge, a force.

The Darkness, Blackness of night. The garish sun hidden by earth, the distant stars like cat’s eyes in the dark, eyes looking back across light years of space. The openess, the emptiness of space, the void, the womb. Infinite potential that can be nothing else.

The Darkness, Blackness of mind. The unconscious unknown, unknowable. The Dark Imagination. The Trickster is the first Son of the Dark Mother, the Black Goddess. The Artist is her servant, she his muse. The Light of Truth must be brought down into the Darkness of Being. Light given form becomes darkness. Darkness given form becomes substance. Gestation is an event out of sight, out of mind.

“Art flies around truth, but with the definite intention of not getting burnt. Its capacity lies in finding in the dark void a place where the beam of light can be intensely caught, without this having been perceptible before.”

Franz Kafka (1953). Blue Octavo Notebooks

19 thoughts on “Dark Imagination

  1. Kafka also said:

    “The Kafka paradox: art depends on truth, but truth, being indivisable, cannot know itself: to tell the truth is to lie. thus the writer is the truth, and yet when he speakes he lies.”

    Franz Kafka (1953). Blue Octavo Notebooks.

    I say:

    “The Void hums a sombre song”

    in reference to my identity.

    The dark void in the one you quoted is that innermost depth that dwells in each of us. That piece of the Void in each of us – the soul’s speaking source.

    • Truth cannot know itself. Truth and Art have a tricky relationship. The Void represents this paradox or otherwise allows it to have space in which for it to manifest… or maybe it is something else. The darkness, anyway, isn’t the opposite of the light. If all was light, there would be no sight for sight is about the contrast between dark and light.

    • A god or a human?

      That is hard to imagine. To be a god would mean being lost to fate or rather knowing one is lost to fate. A god just is. There is an attraction to that.

      A god is a truth and so can’t speak of truth, can’t know truth. Since a god can’t even attempt to speak truth, a god can’t lie. A god can’t be anything besides what it is, an manifestation of some particular truth or aspect of truth.

      A god’s truth is a god’s power. A god’s power is what makes a god impotent and unfree. A god doesn’t have power. A god is power, and anyone inspired by a god is had by power.

      That is how I can best imagine what a god might be. I could be wrong. Maybe there are many kinds of gods. What might be considered a lower god or demi-god would be something other than what I described, but I would just consider this as something between god and human, something that can dwell in both worlds.

      This is just my exploration of the idea of god as filtered through my experiences and intuitions. I’m clueless about what a god ultimately is. And maybe to be a god would mean to be clueless about what a human ultimately is. Cluelessness all around. The difference, I suspect, is that a god embraces cluelessness for a god clings only to its own truth and no other truth. A god doesn’t need or desire to know what it doesn’t know.

      Does this fit your own sense of reality?

  2. Yeah, it does.

    “A god is a truth and so can’t know truth. Since a god can’t even attempt to speak truth, a god can’t lie.”

    This is how I caught the Christian god in a lie. I found that for God to say anything about being good and remain Almighty, he must not be good but is the good. But, if he’s the good, where does evil come from. That’s where I saw that evil was our perception of events and that God will not see them this way. And, I found that evil was the death instinct while good was the life instinct. Thus, I realized that if God really is, He is neither good nor evil, He quite simply is. This God I derived was the Gnostic Abraxas. It was while reading the Septem Sermones ad Mortuos that I found out that that answer was already there. I solved that riddle with a Christian brother of mine. Since then, he’s gone into more intense Christian ministry and I have stayed in my Art, catching light.

    The way you handle the god-human split is similar to mine but I encapsulate it as follows:

    If I had an option between being a god and a human, I’d select demigod.

    I don’t want to be remote from the sufferings and faults of humans like a god. And, I don’t want to be weak in the face of them like god.

    “Willing something so much that you do everything to get it” strikes me as lack of humanity or compassion. I don’t like that. It seems like a loss of mind and a running away. I prefer to fight while in the fray.

    The philosophy I quote seeks to turn us into gods – no matter, it’s all good, I actually like it. But, I prefer gods who are aware of their faults. This is an awful load for anybody – even Prenormative’s self-righteous philosophy of love and castigation of the modern spirit as paranoid is unable of bearing it by his actions which I showed to him and finally called him hubristic at which he flared up. I was depressed I did that since it spoilt the relationship but later, I was quite delighted since it was quintessential Trickster or Socrates😀.

    I’ll prefer to be a demigod or Hermes any day. I recall that when I was young and we’d play games where we played superheroes, I’d look at all the options and say “goddamn, let me say I’m Changeable Man”. I created my own character to multiply my possibilities.

    I’ll choose a demigod or Hermes and be alright with my soul than to choose another just to go to heaven or hell. It means a certain loneliness but well, what can I do?


    • Correction: “And, I don’t want to be weak in the face of them like a human.”

      Also after “..the fray..” there should be inverted comma to signify the end of my encapsulation which begins at “If I had an option…”

    • He says he mirrored me and I had been mirroring him all along by acting all tough. It is true that it leads to an infinite regress but it is only a mind that watches itself that will see his fault and not the infinite regress. At that moment of realization of the fault, compromise can occur for one has humbled himself enough. The infinite regress should make you aware of the fault and you must try to transcend it thus moving the relationship forward.

      The Prenormative saga is just good reference for conversation rather than talking abstractly over things. Talking abstractly tends to bring in the influence of the psychological functions too much. Having a context, a well-defined one, a factual one, within which to speak is good, no?

      In our relationships with others, especially those that conflict, we mirror others. This is an innate mirroring and no one can claim to voluntarily mirror anybody. It is a natural thing – only an omniscient being can claim to mirror voluntarily which is also hubris. Relationship building and love is built on transcending these mirrors. But, it can only be as you say “if the effort is worth it”.

      Calling to mind that only omniscience can do so voluntarily has a practical value in also humbling a person.

      And, Ben, the Void truly has no color. Light and dark both come from it. Whether when light comes out it comes with darkness too, we cannot know or will be a palatably difficult task for the mind. For all intents and purposes ad interim, it’s unknown. We only see the Void as dark because of our remembrance of light and because we have no other designation for the color that depicts it and helps us visualize so we approximate. And, because as the light comes out leaving the dark, the dark part looks like what has just been transcended.

      No matter what, Void is void. Empty. And, Emptiness is quite dreadful. This is why standing in pitch black surrounding has that falling feeling to it or a magnetizing just like a black hole. Emptiness is like sensory deprivation if not the same..hmmm….

      • The Void may have no color, but my loyalty is to the Darkness.

        I’m like one of those cave-dwelling creatures who has lost the ability to see. Darkness just is what Light isn’t. Remembrance of light is like the blind cave-dwelling creature that still has eyes, though eyes that no longer register light.

        Anyway, I’ve always been a momma’s boy. Some worship the God of Light. But I worship the Goddess of Darkness. The God of Light scares me, makes me run back to the shadows.

        • I just realized that I shouldn’t have said color, dark and light are not colors, it was just for you to get the point. I rather should have said “no property”.

          I don’t get it, you prefer the Darkness? To me, the Darkness is destruction and isn’t the same as the Void. You prefer Death? I also like pitch black since it represents the Void most effectively but I won’t say I love the Darkness. I don’t quite getcha. U see where cleverness gets ya😛.

          (I do get you, I’m just yanking ya chain – you mentioned who the Dark Goddess is after all)

          • I prefer the Darkness. I’m a cockroach scurrying through the refuse of civilization, scurrying from the shadow back into the shadows, always seeking the filth rotting in the darkness. Death and rot, She is my Goddess.

  3. Speaking of gods, there is something I can’t recall if I’ve asked you about before. Here it is: Have you ever read Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series? It’s one of my all-time favorite graphic novels that together forms several large volumes. Also, have you ever read Promethea by Alan Moore? Promethea is about imagination and the esoteric.

      • Yeah, Alan Moore wrote V for Vendetta. I’ve seen the movie, but I haven’t read graphic novel. Promethea is very different, less dark.

        In that case, I highly recommend you read these for the characters include god-like beings. I love graphic novels. I should read more of them myself.

          • My local public library carries most of these, but I suppose you don’t have access to the same kinds of books where you live. In the US, these are fairly popular authors and some of their most popular works.

  4. I remember reading some of those. Here are the two I liked most:


    “At the lowest levels, the disciplines intermix, they overlap, they match. At the lowest levels, access to a pool of wisdom is envisioned. At the lowest levels, the fountain of creation takes source, possibility flourishes…”


    “Yes, let it be poetry that corrupts me, depraves me, raises in me monsters, goblins of phenomenal grotesquerie. Let it be poetry that turns me black with the Darkness of the Void. The darkness that I meld into, sigh and weave into, where I am indeterminably Alive, Dead”

    Both of those touch upon aspects of what I was trying to express… or something very similar, anyway.

  5. I read some articles on Promethea yesterday. What stuck out was that she’s called Sophie. Coincidentally, I’d just linked you to my Sweet Sophia posts. One of my posts that describes her as a warrior even sets up the similarity. It’s amusing.

    Promethea looks like it will be nice. Some articles talked about the simple plot. There two ways to make a work – simple plot, complex background or complex plot, simple background. If both are complex, you spoil the work with “too much”. Besides, such a deeply psychological book is no creative story whose plot is gonna be tweaked. The author Loves his plot just so for it means everything to him.

    It’s interesting that she fled into the hands of Hermes Trisgemestus. Hermeticism does have a lot of Sophia within it. I think the female counterpart to Wisdom is Sophia. That means she is the more introverted aspect.

    • Simple plot? I guess it depends on what it is being compared to. It is a very imaginative plot with tons of esoteric info. And the story is fairly original as I recall. If it is a simple plot, it is still probably less simple than 99.9999999% of most plots.

      That said, I don’t judge based on simplicity alone. Sometimes simplicity is a good thing. Some of the greatest poets wrote very simple poems. Simplicity is one of the hardest things to achieve in art. Many of my favorite stories are fairytales/folktales which are so compelling for the reason of their seeming simplicity.

      Discussing Promethea makes me want to read it again. Besides the story itself, the art was interesting as well, not as awesome as Gaiman’s Sandman series but still interesting.

Leave a Reply

