Knowns of Newspeak

“It’s a good question. But I think it’s not to say that we’re saying and I’m not saying that they, someone should’ve told me.
To my knowledge, certain things were not known. And when new information came to light in respect to my knowledge of these events and to the understanding when new information came to light the company acted on it.”
“And the company acted on it in a right and proper way as best the company could. But it’s difficult to say that the company should’ve been told something if it’s not known a thing was a known fact to be told.

~ James Murdoch
Testimony to Parliament
 – – –

The Unknown
As we know,
There are known knowns.
There are things we know we know.
We also know
There are known unknowns.
That is to say
We know there are some things
We do not know.
But there are also unknown unknowns,
The ones we don’t know
We don’t know.

~ Donald Rumsfeld
Department of Defense news briefing
 – – –  

“I dropped off the money exactly as per… look, man, I’ve got certain information, all right? Certain things have come to light. And, you know, has it ever occurred to you, that, instead of, uh, you know, running around, uh, uh, blaming me, you know, given the nature of all this new shit, you know, I-I-I-I… this could be a-a-a-a lot more, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, complex, I mean, it’s not just, it might not be just such a simple… uh, you know?”

The Dude
The Big Lebowski
(comparison made by David Kurtz at TPM)
 – – –

Leave a Reply

