Life is stupid. Humans are stupid.

Here is a video of Thom Hartmann doing an interview with a guy who is the stereotypical rich white guy who doesn’t care about anything other than his own wealth no matter what the costs to others or to society in general. I share Thom’s frustration.

That is the most discouraged I’ve ever heard Thom. I’ve always had great respect for him. He is as genuine as they come. Thom actually cares about people, actually believes in what America supposedly stands for.

Also, Thom is intelligent and very well informed. He has a brilliant mind and always seeks to base his opinions on facts. I remember a show where he read from a first edition of a book written by someone who witnessed the Boston Tea Party. He bought the book because he wanted to base his opinion on original source material. Facts matter to Thom, but he is far from being a disinterested intellectual. His sincerity and kindness reminds me of Noam Chomsky, another brilliant mind.

I was surprised to hear how frustrated Thom was in this video. I suppose for reasons of remaining open-minded Thom often interviews people on the far right. I’m always impressed by how respectful and courteous he normally is. He doesn’t become flustered or scream at his guests. He lets them talk and he responds fairly. So, the last comments he made really stood out. He said that he’d pray for this guy’s soul. I’ve never heard Thom say this to anyone before. I didn’t even know Thom was religious. But I do know that if Thom says he will pray for your soul he really will pray for your soul.

The above video was from yesterday, and today Thom is still frustrated… in fact, he seems to be even more frustrated. Watch this video. Thom is yelling. I have never seen Thom yell like this. I know yelling doesn’t necessarily help, but at some point a person can’t just mildly accept the lies being told right to one’s face. I wish more Americans would start yelling in anger at a system that destroys good people.

The reason Thom has been so frustrated is because of a letter he read in the video clip uploaded on his YouTube channel right before the one at the top of this post (which I just posted about). The letter was a suicide note from a 99’er going by the name Mark. It was written by someone who truly had felt frustrated with the policies of our government that constantly put profits before humanity. It reminds me of the suicide manifesto written by Joe Stack which was another rant against the American version of capitalism/corporatocracy:

The communist creed: From each according to his ability, to each according
to his need.

The capitalist creed: From each according to his gullibility, to each
according to his greed.

What is interesting about both Mark and Joe is that they were people who weren’t just poor desperate folk. Mark was supposedly an educated many who had spent his life working, but had been chewed up and spit out by a tough job market that has no need for older workers. Joe was a businessman who believed in the American Dream, but became cynical when he realized the game was rigged against small business owners. The former simply chose his own death and the latter decided to make a bigger statement by killing others.

These two examples reminds me of yet another example of a man who felt desperate:

Gerald Celente has said, “When people lose everything and they have nothing left to lose, they lose it.”

I don’t know what any of this means. I don’t know if it will ever change for the better. All I can say is that I’m frustrated. I’m not desperate. I’m not facing unemployment and homelessness, but like everyone else I daily face a society that seems indifferent to me and to most people. If you aren’t rich, you don’t matter. You are just a cog in the machine. When you wear out, you will be discarded.

I’ve heard people I respect (specifically, Cenk Uygur) argue that capitalism isn’t immoral, it’s amoral. But either way does it really change anything. Yes, capitalism can only be as moral as the regulation that forces it to be moral. But those who control capitalism also control our government. The capitalist system may be amoral, but the people who have created our capitalist system are moral agents with often immoral agendas. Any system is built on human relationships. I think it’s false to say that any system can be amoral because all systems are an extension of decisions made based either on moral principles or immoral motives. Capitalism has become morally corrupt… which isn’t to say I advocate Communism. I don’t advocate anything other than to open one’s eyes.

All that I know is the system is broken. Nothing I can say is meaningful beyond simply pointing out the harsh reality. Any objective data or logical argument can’t even begin touch upon the real lives of real people. Endless numbers of people are suffering while a minority at the top is profiting. It really is that simple. My opinion doesn’t matter. No one’s opinion matters. People are suffering and will go on suffering. You can vote Democrat or Republican, but either way you’re just voting for the same rich corporatists.

Even that misses the point. The true ugliness of it all is that no single person is to blame and we all are to blame. Corrupt politicians and capitalists are mere results of a corrupt system, a corrupt society. It seems like there should be an answer, has to be an answer, but there is no answer, just suffering. And the men with the money think they are on top of the world, think no one can touch them. We all accept the way the world is until we can’t any longer. Everyone has a breaking point and no one knows where that breaking point is. We all are potential Marks and Joes, all potential suicides and homicides. It doesn’t matter if the rich laugh all the way to the bank. In the end, the joke is on us all. Life is stupid. Humans are stupid.

One thought on “Life is stupid. Humans are stupid.

Leave a Reply

