Tea Party not racist, eh?

Tucker Carlson said:

“So, you say they are racist, give us examples.”

Better yet, I’ll give you the opinions of Tea Party supporters themselves. They admit they are prejudiced:

Tea Party: prejudiced against marginalized groups?

If that isn’t good enough, there are many pictures and videos to be found online showing Tea Party supporters holding signs portraying Obama as a stereotyped person with big lips, nose and ears, as a monkey, as a tribal African, as a Muslim, and as a terrorist. The implication of these portrayals is that Obama is an inferior person and not a real American.

6 thoughts on “Tea Party not racist, eh?

    • I understand your reaction to those pictures. Any moral person would respond that way.

      I had to post the pictures because if I didn’t some right-winger would’ve left a comment denying such pictures exist. Carlson asked for evidence and so I had to respond. If we let such denials of reality to stand unchallenged, it makes the denialists think they’ve won.

      Also, there are many people who really are unaware of these pictures. Most people don’t want to believe the worse of others unless there is clear evidence. So, the pictures were as clear of evidence as I could provide.

      • You’re right, Benjamin. I understand. Kind of like showing pictures of Auschwitz to Holocaust deniers.
        Maybe I should have said I can’t stand to look at those pictures any more, I’VE had enough?

        • I’ve mostly had enough. I would’ve been happy to ignore the issue, but I have a hard time ignoring denials of reality. It’s my pet peeve. As many have said, everyone is free to their own opinions but not their own facts.

    • There is one minor problem to your allegation. It isn’t true. Yes, there were pictures that portrayed Bush negatively, but none that I recall were racist, none questioned his Christianity or his being born an American.

      Also, apparently you didn’t check out the link in the blog. Let me post the link again and offer some excerpts from it.


      “For instance, the Tea Party, the grassroots movement committed to reining in what they perceive as big government, and fiscal irresponsibility, also appear predisposed to intolerance. Approximately 45% of Whites either strongly or somewhat approve of the movement. Of those, only 35% believe Blacks to be hardworking, only 45 % believe Blacks are intelligent, and only 41% think that Blacks are trustworthy. Perceptions of Latinos aren’t much different. While 54% of White Tea Party supporters believe Latinos to be hardworking, only 44% think them intelligent, and even fewer, 42% of Tea Party supporters believe Latinos to be trustworthy.”

Leave a Reply

