StartLoving3: Liberal?

I was recently blocked by a YouTube user (StartLoving3). I was surprised because I was subscribed to the person’s channel and enjoyed all the videos they posted. The video I had commented on was about WikiLeaks. I pointed out that I hadn’t heard any evidence that anyone had actually died because of the data released and StartLoving3 was outraged that I was defending the freedom of the press. I don’t always state my comments on YouTube in the kindest way, but in this incident I stated my comment very simply and without attacking. Another commenter even complimented on how fair my comment was.

StartLoving3 was so annoyed at my comment that he responded after blocking me. David Duke did that to me on his YouTube channel, but David Duke is a white supremacist. I expect white supremacists to act like cowards and run away from intelligent debate, but I hold liberals up to a higher standard. Going by the videos on StartLoving3’s channel, he seems to be as liberal as one can get. But, obviously, he isn’t my kind of liberal. His irritation at my comment (and maybe at the other commenter’s liking my comment) led him to take the video down entirely. It wasn’t enough to just censor my future comments. He had to erase my presence entirely.

I decided to send a message to StartLoving3, but I don’t think he’d receive it as he has blocked me. So, I thought I’d share it here.

– – –

I was just visiting your YouTube page. I was wondering what type of person blocks another for making a point about the facts. Every video you post is exactly what I enjoy watching. We probably agree on 99.99999% of issues and yet you blocked me because you were hyper-sensitive about that 0.00001% of disagreement.

I always defend liberals as being better than conservatives. I often criticize right-wingers because they tend to block out what they don’t want to hear, but it isn’t what I expect from a liberal. I think of liberals as people who are always willing to listen to facts, always willing to try to understand. I made a rational argument based on facts. I asked for evidence and you blocked me.

That is the type of thing I expect from an anti-intellectual right-winger but not a true liberal. What gives? It truly bewilders me. How are you making the world a better place by shutting down dialogue? How are you any better than those you disagree with?

You seem like someone who cares which is why I feel so surprised. Right-wingers often shut out opinions they disagree with and facts they don’t like because they’re stuck in an ideology reality tunnel. I realize some liberals, even if not the majority, can get stuck in ideology as well. Is that what you see your role as? Being an ideologue?

If people like you shut out and attack those who agree with 99.99999% of what you believe, then what hope is there? Does every person have to agree with you 100% or else you think they’re worthless? They just seem like a very liberal attitude? Could you imagine a world where you only ever heard viewpoints that you already agreed with?

I honestly must admit you’ve shaken my faith in liberals. I always thought liberals were better than the kind of behavior your demonstrating. I thought the one thing that distinguished liberals was that we don’t hide in ideology. Am I wrong about liberalism? Is the type of world you want to create one where people can’t have intelligent discussion and possibly learn something new by hearing a different perspective?

I was just visiting your YouTube page. I was wondering what type of person blocks another for making a point about the facts. Every video you post is exactly what I enjoy watching. We probably agree on 99.99999% of issues and yet you blocked me because you were hyper-sensitive about that 0.00001% of disagreement.

I always defend liberals as being better than conservatives. I often criticize right-wingers because they tend to block out what they don’t want to hear, but it isn’t what I expect from a liberal. I think of liberals as people who are always willing to listen to facts, always willing to try to understand. I made a rational argument based on facts. I asked for evidence and you blocked me.

That is the type of thing I expect from an anti-intellectual right-winger but not a true liberal. What gives? It truly bewilders me. How are you making the world a better place by shutting down dialogue? How are you any better than those you disagree with?

You seem like someone who cares which is why I feel so surprised. Right-wingers often shut out opinions they disagree with and facts they don’t like because they’re stuck in an ideology reality tunnel. I realize some liberals, even if not the majority, can get stuck in ideology as well. Is that what you see your role as? Being an ideologue?

If people like you shut out and attack those who agree with 99.99999% of what you believe, then what hope is there? Does every person have to agree with you 100% or else you think they’re worthless? They just seem like a very liberal attitude? Could you imagine a world where you only ever heard viewpoints that you already agreed with?

I honestly must admit you’ve somewhat shaken my faith in liberals. I always thought liberals were better than the kind of behavior your demonstrating. I thought the one thing that distinguished liberals was that we don’t hide in ideology. Am I wrong about liberalism? Is the type of world you want to create one where people can’t have intelligent discussion and possibly learn something new by hearing a different perspective?

2 thoughts on “StartLoving3: Liberal?

  1. This is serious stuff but Hahahaha. Serves you right. Always debating, cut you off totally. Withal, sorry. But, it is funny. Hahaha

    Oh, the pictured countenance. ROFL. Do you wear glasses? I always picture you as one who does. Made my day. Shoulda seen this on Monday when I was raging mad.

    Hope you don’t cut me off for laughing at ya. Then I’ll be the one writing 99.9999%. Hahaha

    • It’s all good. I get irritated, but I don’t take this stuff too seriously. It did perplex me. With this incident, I actually wasn’t debating. I only posted one comment that basically came down to a question. I didn’t even know I was disagreeing with the person until after he blocked me.

      At least, with the white supremacist, I was being intentionally provocative. Besides, as I pointed out, one expects white supremacists to be a bit touchy and irrational.

      Anywho, I shouldn’t be surprised. Not everyone enjoys or is good at debating. I just figure if someone isn’t open to different views they should just entirely shut off the comments on their videos. Or maybe they should put a warning: ‘If you disagree with me, I’ll block you.’

      But you don’t need to worry. I generally don’t mind disagreement. There is only one time on my blog where I told someone to leave. As I recall, I was unsucessfully trying to have an honest debate with this person. I finally just got irritated and told him to go away, but this happened only after a lengthy debate. The only other incidents are just some comments I don’t approve such as stupid rants about Obama being a secret Muslim or something, but if the person came back and made a rational comment I’d approve it.

      However, I would never block someone for just disagreeing. I would even block someone for being disagreeable just long as they were being, to some basic degree, intelligent and rational. I especially wouldn’t block someone for asking a question which cuts to the heart of an assumption I hold about the world. If someone asked a question and I didn’t know the answer, I’d take that as an opportunity to do research.

      This is why I have a blog. No one can block me here and I can debate people on my own terms. As for youtube, I tend to have low expectations. Being blocked by one person on a site with millions of people doesn’t really matter all that much.

      Glasses? Yep. I’ve had glasses since around third grade. Both my parents have glasses. I don’t know if it’s genetic. I can promise you I didn’t need glasses in third grade because I was reading too much. I hardly read much at all (besides comic books and Mad magazine) until around 7th grade.

Leave a Reply

