5 thoughts on “The 3 Signs of the Apocalypse

  1. Been a long time. During that time I have been honing my skills in literature, trying to be more figurative to match my rhyming skills or sensing skills.

    Recently, I have been very engaged by personality typology and have been seeing it everywhere. I did the free Keirsey sorter and came out NT. Went to less-reputed (actually I want to say trusted but it doesn’t give my feeling side ease) site and came out INTJ.

    Well, well, what clarity it’s given. How did you feel when you first got your INFP verdict? Mine has been a Eureka.

    However I was reading an INTP profile and saw much of me there too. Went into MBTI more and found the theory of shadows posited by modern researchers. Though, the antithesis of me is the ENTP which is just a bit of reversal of the INTP. But, that reversal is so so significant in real life.

    The world cup is in SA, my country beat yours but it was like I was involved before it even began; I couldn’t choose. I was torn between many.

    You know, when Jung said the religions are to develop the self, he had a point. Maxims like the lumberjack theory of Jesus and that one in Buddhism ‘You cannot defeat another if you cannot defeat yourself’ were very helpful for my introspection and internal renovations so that other parts too developed.

    Something uncanny about Jung though: found his name and was immediately drawn to it when young like I knew him. I knew Freud more but liked Jung more. First I thought it was his name but the entire name touches me so.

    Psych is a very interesting field and I wish it was given more attention esp here, where I live.

    P-type, liberating and invigorating discovery.

    NB. My last post brings out clearly my make-up. However, the personality is an all-pervading aura or figure, it’s both concrete and abstract.

    • Is there a reason you’re working on your writing right now? Or is it something you are always working on?

      And what’s caused you to be engaged with typology? I’m not per se engaged with typology myself at the moment, but it’s never far from my mind and comes up in my writings on a regular basis. I understand how easy it is to see it everywhere when studying it. Typology (and the related trait theory) does explain a lot.

      Recently, I’ve been reading about the psychological research done on right-wing authoritarianism and social dominance. The specific book I’m reading is by Bob Altemeyer who is a Canadian psychology researcher. His book is available for free online if you’re interested:


      When I read about psychological research, I often wonder how it might or might not correlate to personality research. I suspect certain personalities would be naturally more prone to right-wing authoritarianism or social dominance. I’m willing to bet both types would be disproportionately found in Kiersey’s SJ temperament.

      I’m not surprised by your results. If would’ve guessed that you had Introversion and iNtuition, especially the latter. But I don’t know you well enough to make much of an informed guess.

      I suppose my discovery of my INFP-ness was a bit of a Eureka experience. I was more impressed when I spent some time on an INFP forum and saw the similarities. It definitely made clear that I was an INFP.

      The theory about shadow functions is very interesting. It seems to point to some things that intuitively make sense once you understand the theory. I know that it has helped some people to clarify what they think their type to be. However, as far as I know it hasn’t been fully tested by any researchers. Not all typology practitioners and theorists agree with the notion that function-attitudes are ordered in a specific way.

      I’ve also spent time on both an INTP forum and an ENTP forum. They are very different types. I can sort of understand INTPs because of their similarities to INFPs, but ENTPs are very strange creatures. I think the ENTP’s talent of being a chameleon would bother my INFP ideal of authenticity.

      Yes, I heard the US team lost. I haven’t watched any of the games. I grew up playing soccer and enjoyed it, but I’ve never been interested in watching other people play soccer (or any other sport for that matter). I’m not a competitive person. I appreciate seeing someone with talent and skill, but it doesn’t really matter to me which team wins. Even when I played soccer, I wasn’t all that invested in winning. Maybe it’s because I was always on losing teams. I suspect it’s more to do with my personality, INFPs not being competitive types.

      What is the lumberjack theory of Jesus? I’m not sure I’ve ever heard of it. I do agree that religion is, at least partly, about developing the self. Have you read Joseph Campbell? Campbell and Jung tend to go together in my mind.

      Psychology is very interesting. For some reason, psychology found rich soil to develop in with American culture. I think it’s because America lacks a traditional culture of it’s own for the most part. We Americans are constantly searching for our identity.

      In certain cultures, focusing on and talking about oneself is considered bad… but not in the US. I don’t think it’s narcissism. I’ve researched about narcissism in the past. According to the data, Americans are supposedly less narcissistic because, even though we like to talk about ourselves, we also like to listen to others talking about themselves. Some research shows Japanese culture to be more narcissistic because people don’t talk about themselves which causes them to be more self-focused.

      Furthermore, I think Americans like psychology because of it’s practical side. The MBTI was developed partly for practical reasons of employee placement. It took an American mind to want to systematize and do careful research on Jung’s more open-ended insights. Jung was quite suspect of this desire to systematize.

      I’m not familiar with non-Western cultures to any great extent. I’m very much constrained by a Western worldview. In particular, America has so much media presence that it’s hard for an American to see outside of American media.

      What is your culture like? If not psychology, what do most people there focus on? What are the collective tendencies? What personality type would you give your country?

      Some have argued (such as Gianninni) that America has, especially in the past, idealized the ESTJ type. I think this is changing a bit. Intuition is gaining more respect, but America remains a very practical-minded country.

  2. I’ve seen your question but I’ll have to defer the answer to when I have contemplated it enough; the question of the predominant type of my society. For sure, the perceptive ideal is S but I can’t find that for judgment.

    The basic problem is that there are so many tribes in this society with their respective preferences for paradigms. The Ewes for instance seem to respect intelligence so much but there is this bit part of their shiny model that is dark; there is a value of social rules. Some will say their F predominates but the T is much more significant as they are said to be the most ‘wicked’ of the tribes. For now, I make them ST. The others, the Akans, are very SF with the group of tribes known as the Northerners joining them. I really want to do a comprehensive job.

    With the collective tendencies, I will have to scrutinise thoroughly for the Ewe are cryptic as well as the Northeners. The particulars are a bit smoked. Coming to think about it, the Ewes are similar to the Germans and the Japanese, yea they are. No wonder though for the Ewes really had good relations and fruits from German rule before Togoland was taken away from them.

    That question is actually a personal project of mine perhaps a childhood one even, not just for my country even. I remember you mentioned before something like that. The poetic improvement is another, always improving it.

    Reading about ENTPs has given more clarity. That was why I thought I was INTP but the E goes more. Either my shadow has highly developed as ENTP or INTJ, telling might need expert advice. My youth was between these two.

    That’s where the lumberjack theory comes: ”remove the log in your eye before you can deal with another’s”. Others are the awareness, exploration and development of self that Eastern philosophy brings. Looking back at my youth, the two p-types were present so I can’t decide.

    I wish I could get expert advice.

    • Is there a lot of cultural conflict in Ghana? Do the different groups mostly keep to themselves? How much inter-marriage is there?

      I hadn’t heard of the it stated as the “lumberjack theory”, but I’m familiar with the biblical saying.

  3. Oh, that was just me being ENTP. There’s no lumberjack theory, just playing around.

    Not really conflict but it comes up significantly. Well then, as a result of seeing the significant, I’ll be more trenchant with my analysis; it doesn’t turn physical but it exists abstractly. The very tension almost is felt. The Ewe don’t really go with the Akan esp the Ashanti. The Fanti(they are said to be Akan but have resisted that designation) do not find the Ashanti attractive either.

    At my level, it seems to be changing but it still crops up in very serious considerations. Particularly marriage is affected. However, it seems to be due to the paucity of understanding of man in general. The old ways classified people by tribe, family, just apparent relations but important exceptions exist so that ascription of tribal values to a part, a solitary individual is inadequate, shortsighted.

    That’s where this p-theory comes in for they can’t really be blamed when statistically so many are in a certain group. These are the occasions for my criticism of statistics which I do between overt and subliminal in my writings(if they can be taken seriously at all). In these less complex societies(that’s subjective cos I grew here), certain observations are easy to make.

    1 Statistics is a system of human nature itself. Those formulae are used to great accuracy by those one will even say are simple.
    2 One personality’s discovery becomes binding on the whole group and this is some sort of Reaper despotism for these personalities are usually dead.
    3 Men just want structure for a structureless world. The structure becomes the problem and another structure is put up to solve it. They pile up and a complicated system comes about which is such a difficult system if one wants to follow. In the end, to fly, one will have to break the purported safe birdhouse that houses everyone making the initial effort of resolution useless.

    Look where a discussion of p-types has taken us; we were all on the shore admiring sea shells now we are on a huge trawler hunting for whales. Nice. Hope the Japanese authorities(or is it Chinese) don’t catch us cos the crew has a soft spot for shark fin soup too. Haha.

Leave a Reply

