Why does WordPress hire Retards?

I’m officially convinced the people working for WordPress are retards. It’s a relatively nice service, but there are some glitches that are so basic that I don’t understand why they refuse to fix them.

This particular post is in response to two glitches.

First, I had logged into my account and had intentionally checked that I wanted to remain logged in. For some unknown reason, it logged me off a couple hours later. The problem is it doesn’t notify you that you’ve been logged off.

This brings me to the second issue. WordPress allows you to keep working as if you were logged on, but nothing you are doing is being processed by WordPress. I went to publish what I had written and it asked me to log in again. However, WordPress is designed to erase everything you were working on when you log in. I know plenty of websites that save what you were working on if you need to log in or verify some information.

I knew of the first problem. I usually copy something before trying to publish it as I’ve lost stuff that way in the past. However, I realized I had just logged in and WordPress has never before immediately logged me out again so quickly. I should’ve copied it, but then again the people working for WordPress shouldn’t be retards in the first place. If they weren’t retards, then I wouldn’t have to worry about retarded glitches.

7 thoughts on “Why does WordPress hire Retards?

  1. The second one is just too funny. Considering how heated your debates can get, the look on your face when that happened would be priceless.

    You know concerning that comment about the tyranny of personalities, where I said certain p-types become dictatorial, it parallels something in Hindu where they speak of certain shakti rising to bigwig position. Maybe, if I scrutinise history, I might find enough evidence of certain mentalities ruling for particular periods. It looks so cos Europe provides some info on that.

    I was wondering, in my city(would have said country but the rural isn’t like that) parents have turned just providers, is it so around your way too cos your movies, mags, talkshows seem to say so. One thing I learned is the south has very strong family values but do you know what pertains elsewhere?

    • It’s hard to tell from this post, but I’m generally rather philosophical about computer and internet failings. I’m irritated in the moment. Usually after venting, I feel much better. I don’t genuinely think the people working for WordPress are retards, but it sure felt good to call them such at that moment.

      I mean… really! Couldn’t they have a window that pops up to sign back in so it doesn’t delete what you’re working on? Most forums are set up that way.

      Families? I’m not entirely sure what you mean by parents having turned providers. Do you mean parents act less like authorities? In the US, I can speak a bit about both city and rural families, but my experience is limited to mostly the Midwest and the South. The big difference I noticed about the South is that they highly value extended family. Anyone (friends, neighbors, church congregation, etc) who knows the family for a long enough time become a part of extended family. Midwesterners, on the other hand, maybe have more of a sense of community in general as being part of family. I think a major distinction is that Southerners put a lot of value on group loyalty.

      Did that answer your question?

      What have you observed about families you’ve known?

  2. I see that there is a lot less genuine love there. I see parent-child relationships have turned into material relations. Parents think providing physical needs is all that is necessary.

    Honestly, writing brings to mind again that personality theory and all its matters. However, the personality is just the agency, a substrate is needed and when…no I can’t write again, the number of varying possible causes swamping me right now is more than Noah can handle. Wow, writing a book comprehensively viz. multidimensionally will be arduous.

    It seems all I can achieve is more and more questions requiring answers, no finality, like I said in one of my famous prose poems (yeah, right now I’m beating Baudelaire up, lol).

    It’s SOME parents that think so narrowly and society tends to amplify that which does not conform to its tastes so it might not be so significant but considering these are lives being talked about on our side and being damaged(perchance) on the parents side, it IS significant.

    To answer your question, families I know of have parents or a parent who thinks his/her provision of physicals is enough to warrant reverence, failing to see their failure in giving that emotional and intellectual input also; a double failure.

    • I think I understand what you’re saying. I see genuine love having decreased maybe for a few reasons.

      Parenting has become very legalistic in some ways, at least in the US. In parenting and divorce, there is a lot of govt and judicial intervention. Who is ultimately responsible for a child is decided by judges and social workers. This legalization has increased because traditional social relations have broken down. Small communties are becoming less common, divorce and single parents are becoming more common, families with both parents working are becoming the norm. The govt has taken over many parenting responsibilities as public school teachers babysit the kids while the parents work.

      Contemporary life doesn’t allow for the close intimate relationships that were common in the past in small villages and tribal communities. Parents are very busy and parents rarely work jobs where they can bring their children to work (as was common in past). Children rarely these days learn the trade of their parents.

      Everything has become disconnected. People usually don’t live near their extended or even immediate family and few people live in the same community their whole life. Career has become more important than personal relationships. Staying in contact with family and friends through email and Facebook isn’t the same thing as living in the same community with them.

      This loss of personal connections leads to more emphasis on the material. A parent who can’t be around as much will make sure that at least the material needs of their children are taken care of. Also, this is circular because the increased emphasis on the material ends up further undermining personal connections.

      I’m not sure about the personality angle. I do think that our present society is the manifestation of the over-emphasis of certain personality traits/types. For quite a while (at least in the West and especially in the US), we seem to have been living in the world of the ESTJ.

  3. Gotcha. As for the legal angle, it’s present in so many aspects of life.

    The personality angle is like this: with types that do not have that feeling dominance, it’s hard to achieve good bonding with the kids. Looking at the supposed American model who thinks more than perceives and at that uses the sensing more than the intuition, it will be hard to get into those subtleties. Not that they can’t but with many bogged down in work, it’s hard to realise one’s deficiencies and make corrections. It can get very serious.

    For me, I know my emotional side is my bane. I allow it out maybe in writing or when alone but it spends a lot of time in when I am out. Just can’t use that feeling side and actually dislike being pampered, doted on, I feel I have to deserve any favors not just love, you see how it is. Now, put someone like me in a family situation where I go to work and continually work with that side of me I prize, unless I keep my senses and park my work self along with the vehicle, it’s going to be difficult for the kids or the wife.

    However all that is theory with so many manipulable variables, so I think real life will be different. But I can’t help noting the spate of divorce in my environment because halves of couples fail to see their deficiencies and try for some modification and accept the other’s faults so that the modification doesn’t have to be too much.

    Career sure is more important these days but I always ask the question ‘should most of these kids grow up unwholesome for society by their parents absence?’. After all though society has to get on with the older ones working, the younger ones too need moulding. Or is there going to be a professionalisation of parenthood too so that we have sub mums and dads? Perhaps can help but doesn’t feel natural.

    Each question, each answer opens up new questions, new answers. Sometimes, after careful watching and analysis, I see the complexity and am astounded. Yes, there are contradictions but the coherence does look impressive, I just smile and walk on.

    • I just wanted to comment on the parenting issue. There are two factors that must be considered: generations and feminism.

      I’m very interested in generational theories and have been reading some books about it. According to Strauss and Howe, parenting styles tend to go in predictable cycles. As Americans, they focus on the US cycles, but they argue that the same basic pattern can be found in all developed societies. The cycle involves 4 phases and 4 generational archetypes. I just want to point out the recent part of the US cycle starting with my own generation (GenX).

      GenXers grew up as the least parented generation in US history (the last time our generational archetype was seen was with the Lost Generation, the child labor of early industrialization). GenXers are known as latchkey kids because of the high divorce rates and the high rates of working mothers. GenXers came home to empty houses and were free to do what they wanted without supervision. In general, society was anti-child during the GenXers childhood (children became less welcome in social venues and the entertainment industry made vastly less entertainment directed at kids; also many movies were made during this time involving evil, monstrous, possessed or otherwise dysfunctional children).

      As a society, people began to realize they were failing to raise their children well. In particular, GenXers decided they wouldn’t make the same mistakes and so became over-protective parents. Kids are no longer allowed to walk to school alone and parents have become obsessed with their children. Also, GenXers value family so much that they are less willing to sacrifice family for career. More people now are willing (and, because of less job opportunities, more people are being forced) to have a parent stay at home.

      This relates to the second point about feminism. Job opportunities for women have increased even while the job opportunities for men have decreased. More women are going to college than men these days and more men are acting as house dads (other factors for this gender role reversal, according to Dr. Leonard Sax, are related to hormones in the food supply and the increasing rate of kids on psychiatric drugs).

      The larger number of women being employed is causing employment itself being changed. Women, because of children and other priorities, are less willing to sacrifice everything for career.

      So, family and career is changing in our society, but it’s not clear the direction of this change. There are many factors. Anyways, it’s not clear that the family is being destroyed. For example, I believe divorce rates have gone down compared to the high point in decades past.

  4. Thanks. You read a lot. Unfortunately, I spend my time wandering about like Socrates trying to make sense of my environment; I think I’m getting addicted. Thanks a lot for the elucidation though ‘there are so many factors’.

    Let me see what you have in your newest post.

Leave a Reply

