LOTR: Scariness and Humor

I recently posted a favorite movie scene of mine from Dances with Wolves, and so I’ll post another from a very different movie. The scene is the mirror of Galadriel in the Lords of the Rings trilogy.

I particularly like where she reaches out for the ring and transforms herself into quite a frightening vision. Poor Frodo!

Galadriel: “IN PLACE OF A DARK LORD, YOU WILL HAVE A QUEEN! NOT DARK BUT BEAUTIFUL AND TERRIBLE AS THE DAWN! TREACHEROUS AS THE SEA! STRONGER THAN THE FOUNDATIONS OF THE EARTH! ALL SHALL LOVE ME AND DESPAIR!”

* * *

On a lighter note, I’ll also add a couple of videos poking fun at the Lord of the Rings.

 

2 thoughts on “LOTR: Scariness and Humor

  1. Hi Ben,

    Dark humor has to be one of the more difficult, if not the most difficult, styles of expression, not just because of its creative difficulty but sadly because of it’s lack of acceptance and patrons. It can often offend the majority who seem to prefer shallow, vacuous simplicity over depth, sophistication and complexity. And yet when someone is able to pull it off with intelligence and honesty, I find it often strikes a chord with people in general, which is strangely odd. I recall when Bong Joon-ho’s Snowpiercer was released and I couldn’t find it playing at any theaters nearby. The dark humor in that film probably said more about the human condition than all the summer films over the past ten years put together. The scene in the train’s school car is classic. It touches so many levels of human existence, which only dark humor can do.

    I neglected to give honorable mention to John Carpenter and M. Night Shyamalan in my last comment. I think they are filmmakers who understand scary is just as much Kafkaesque descent into disenfranchised and marginalized confusion as it is evil creatures of the night. However, ironically you get the sense they’ve compromised their understanding in order to avoid that exact same Kafkaesque descent into confusion they fear, which is reflected in most of their not-so-great films. That’s life I guess. You dumb yourself down and compromise your understanding in order to earn a buck, pay the bills and not be destitute. Ignorance is bliss…Jesus, Mary, Joseph, I hate that cliché.

    • This is an old post. All of the videos are now defunct. That is the problem of putting such things as videos in posts. If I think about it this weekend, I’ll try to replace the old videos with ones that do work. The post also needs to be cleaned up, as somehow the text size was altered.

      In response to your comment, I am a fan of dark humor along with dry humor and silly humor. I guess I just like humor, especially humor that is of a less typical variety. I have a high tolerance for bizarre and straight up stupid humor. I even like weirdness taken on its own terms, whether or not it seems all that funny.

      I watched Snowpiercer a while back. I don’t remember it all that well. It probably was on while I was falling asleep. I’ll have to rewatch it or at least rewatch the scene you mention.

Leave a Reply

